top of page

Manifesting Ghana

Updated: Apr 24, 2020


Don't we all just want to travel? For me that's my biggest goal, to just travel and dance and be happy with whatever I'm doing. When I was in school and even before college I had dreams of traveling and studying abroad but let's be honest, that cost money and the way my fiances were set up in school I was just happy to be able to get gas in my car to drive home on the weekends whenever I wanted.


After graduating, I kept dancing of course got to traveled to LA but still dreamed of traveling abroad, somewhere, anywhere. My entire vision board is basically distant contries and landmarks i have to see in my life's jounrey. Africa was always the first place I would say I wanted to visit, despite being so light-skined a DNA test confirmed I'm 67% Nigerian, with a mixture of other races of course. But I want to see where I'm from, where we are all from. Watching the Travel Channel and the Discovery Channel growing up I'd see places like Egypt, Morroco, and South Africa and knew I'd be there one day.


Long story short, because all of this happened really quick, one random day back in January my old dance professor sent me a link to a performing arts abroad website. I was sitting at my desk at work and decided to click through the site and I saw they offered a three week trip to Ghana which surprised me because I always thought you had to go away for more than a month to travel abroad. The program had me written all over it dance, arts, working with women, working with kids, music, instrument making, basket weaving, time to do excursions, AFRICA BEACHES, all inclusive everything, except that $4000 program fee. I applied to the scholarship they were offering the same day and received the highest amount they award, $850. I was shook!


I wrote to them about what I do, my dream of traveling abroad in school but not being able to, and how I would want to film my experience with the program to encourage others to make their travel dreams come true as well, and now I had to figure out a way to get to Ghana to make the film in my head a reality.... Months later, after finding a bomb new job teaching at a dance studio, learning how to save budget and plan a trip all by myself, the deadly vaccination shots, passport problems, and months of anxiety I am actually going to Ghana! Oh and come to find out a few weeks ago I have a 12 hour layover in Morocco! So all of my travel dream are really coming through in this one trip. My first trip out of the country on my own to my home country and I can't wait!

Thank you to everyone who helped support by donating to my Go Fund Me! I was able to finish paying my program fees, get my plane ticket, a stabilizer, and get a new camera lens! This documentary is about to be littttt, Amen! I leave for Ghana June 29th and now I am looking to support local clothing brands while I'm there shooting content. If you want to collaborate send me a message and remember to always chase your dreams!


Vision boards are KEY! Make one and hang it where you'll look at it everyday. Here's a little look at my vision board, its always changing, evolving and helping to maintain my focus and my energy on manifesting an abundant life in all ways.I hope you do the same.


Check out the gallery of pictures from my trip below.




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page